Forgotten collection has me stumped

Welcome to our Antique Bottle community

Be a part of something great, join today!

springdawn

Reaction score
I'm a newbie and I need some help on dating a bottle.
When I was 13 or 14, I found an old bottle dump site on the side of a ravine at my grandmas house in Ohio. I spent hours pulling bottles out of the dirt. Until recently, when we were cleaning out my moms home, I had forgotten about all these bottles because they had been packed away. There are lots of them so I am trying to educate myself on them so I know more about my forgotten collection.
One, in particular, has me stumped. After hours of research, I don't know whether this bottle is free-blown or mold turned and/or its use?
It is a dark forest green color with no seams. There is a an open pontil mark on the bottom with a slight push up and no seams. The top is an applied blob top. This is all information I think is accurate. :)
The bottle fits the characteristics of a free-blown bottle because of the lop-sided neck but is somwhat symmetrical around the rest of the body and has a smooth finish like a mold-turned bottle. It is 9.25" in height.
I am attaching some pictures in the hope that you guys can help me out.

Any idea what time period it would come from? Is it a soda bottle? Beer bottle?

Thanks in advance!

722BF1D6E47E4A5B86911F938A9FBD05.jpg

Attachments

• 722BF1D6E47E4A5B86911F938A9FBD05.jpg
    722BF1D6E47E4A5B86911F938A9FBD05.jpg
    38 KB · Views: 75

mtfdfire22

Reaction score
You are close. That is a wine bottle from 1890-1900 give or take 10 years.
That is a turn mold.
It does have a blob style top.
It was handmade.

but

that is not a pontil mark
the picture is of a pontil scar. A pontil scar is a sharp, usually jagged piece of glass on the base from the blowing process

BF7321D164D04F7DA18DF2FBCA83B7F6.jpg

Attachments

• BF7321D164D04F7DA18DF2FBCA83B7F6.jpg
    BF7321D164D04F7DA18DF2FBCA83B7F6.jpg
    66.3 KB · Views: 71

glass man