Help with this flea market find...Whitall Tatum Co. chemists bottle

Welcome to our Antique Bottle community

Be a part of something great, join today!

gohunt

Reaction score
Hey all, yes, my first post. I've always liked bottles and buy one here and there. I was at the Hillsville, VA annual flea market a couple weeks ago and being a laboratory manager I was attracted to this sulphuric acid bottle with raised etched lettering on the face of the jar saying "ACID SULPHURIC H2SO4". I picked it up and looked at the bottom and saw the patent date of 1879 and decided I'd better pick this one. Generally, besides missing the ground glass stopper, it is excellent condition with a few small air bubbles. Upon further inspection, the bottom has the following info reading from top top to bottom "PHILA", "PAT MAR 15 1879", "F", "USA" and "NEW YORK". See pics attached. I've read "The Dating Game" articles, but no description that matches this is discussed nor is the markings on the bottom very similar to this one. Can anyone tell me more about this bottle, got one like it, possible historical importance and value? Thanks for your help.

cowseatmaize

Reaction score
Hi,I think I also see "WHITALL TATUM&Co." and if you look at page 9 there is a little bit that reads... "Occasional pieces were simply marked with the Whitall Tatum name.Apparently during the 20th century, the corporation had
figured that free advertising was to its
advantage. Although we are unable to
positively date some of these, all were made
after 1901 (as shown by the lack of the ampersand).
An eBay seller describing a
milk-glass apothecary jar noted that “text
on the bottom of the jar forms a circle. The
text reads Whitall Tatum Co. Phila & N. Y.
At the center of the circle is the letter ‘B.’”
A similar piece with identical marking on
the base was described by McKearin and
McKearin (1941:165; plate 62). Numerous
eBay apothecary jars have been reported
with similar markings. The Philadelphia