Horror story!!

Welcome to our Antique Bottle community

Be a part of something great, join today!

scduckett

Reaction score
I'm a home health nurse who has the opportunity to travel in outlying areas and see several older homes and homesites. I've been "casing out" several for future reference to possibly dig for the outhouse (that's privy to you Yankees). I had a patient who told me her house was over 100 years old. Naturally I asked her if she knew where the outhouse had been. She replied, "Well, you know, it's funny you should ask because when we moved in here, there was a depression over there by the back fence. It took us two months to dig up all the trash AND BOTTLES that was in there." [:eek:]I could have fainted on the spot!!! I asked her what they did with all of it and she said her brother took it "off somewhere". When I asked her if he would remember where he took it, she said, "Lord, honey, he's had Alzmer's (she meant Alzheimer's) for the last few years and don't even know what day it is". Thought I'd share this story with ya'll. Sweet dreams!!!
Susan

IRISH

Reaction score
That's frustrating hey [:mad:] , a bit like when we had a bloke do a bit of excavating here and I mentioned bottles, he said that he had dug a heap of them the day before in Fitzroy (very old suburb of Melbourne) and described what could only be some very good bottles, when I asked what he had done with them (ready to drive the hour to Fitzroy [:D] ) he said that they had put them next to the hole and someone put them in a rubbish skip [:(] [:mad:] .

Gunsmoke47

Reaction score