Lightning rod ball?

Welcome to our Antique Bottle community

Be a part of something great, join today!

Altom

Reaction score
Good morning everyone

First of all i hope im not spamming by posting three topics within twenty four hours.what we have here today is another find from the estate sale i went to the other day and shall be going back to today. At first i saw this thing and i'm like "oh i know what you are!" but then as i studied it more and saw something very similar to it fastened to a chandelier which struck a big doubt in me that it may not be a lightning rod ball. I then looked online when i got back and well some looked like it and alot more didn't. Considering this i'm not sure what to make of it. Any help would be most appreciated.

lightningrodball2_zps05293cfe.jpg

lightningrodball_zps318b425a.jpg

beendiggin

Reaction score
It looks to me like it went onto a lamp. I would call it a milk glass hobnail font.

It does resemble a rod ball, maybe it is one. I've never seen a hobnail one before, but that doesn't mean they weren't made.

What is the dimension of it? That might help as I believe a typical lamp font would probably be smaller than a rod ball.

Exeptions will apply of course.

cowseatmaize

Reaction score
Since I sitting right here, similar to this Paul? Just different.

27DC6DED86A340DD8C9D1B67EAAE8159.jpg

Attachments

• 27DC6DED86A340DD8C9D1B67EAAE8159.jpg
    27DC6DED86A340DD8C9D1B67EAAE8159.jpg
    63.9 KB · Views: 66

LC

Reaction score
Lamp would be my guess as well .

RED Matthews

Reaction score
Hello all - I have a lot of lightning rod balls and a couple pendants, arrows and rods with arms. I am sure your milk glass hobnail is for a lamp assembly, the round ends on lightning rod balls are normally just plain round cylinders that are about 3/4" in diameter x a quarter inch to 3/8" long.