My First Bottle Hunt! (my story)

Welcome to our Antique Bottle community

Be a part of something great, join today!

CMPharmD

Reaction score
(sorry for the length, but I'm very excited....)

I have been collecting bottles for a few years. I am still in college and poor as hell, and live in a moderately densely populated city. I am also the only person I know interested in bottles. I have had dreams of finding bottles of my own for years, but have had to settle for thrift store finds and antique store overpricing until I could figure out what in the world bottle diggers do to find their privies/sites....

I was eating lunch by a creek in a public park (which I had no idea was there until I poked around a bit out of boredom) and saw some bottle bits down in there. I decided to come back this weekend, and just poke around a bit, out of fun, to see if anything was there. This was just for giggles as I have NO idea what to look for in creeks besides, well, bottles...

I jumped into the shallow end of the creek, and immediately my shoe got stuck in the muck and in an effort to balance myself, I ended up planting my sock-covered foot into the sandy bottom. Looking like a fool, I ventured in, making my boyfriend keep watch for any other people walking by. I don't know how *legal* it is to carry out bottles from a public park, but I figure I could just say I was cleaning the creek, and I doubt the bottles were of any real value anyways...

After poking around the creek, I found some bottle shards, but nothing else. My boyfriend suggested the upper banks. So I ventured up, with my black garbage bag, a rod to poke with, and my dishwashing-gloves covered hands. I'm certain I looked crazy.