My first privy dig.

Welcome to our Antique Bottle community

Be a part of something great, join today!

craigc90

Reaction score
I have been digging dumps for a couple years. Finaly got permission to dig a privy. I walked around the house and started probing with my homemade probe and very first spot I tried the probe sank to China. 2 feet hit bricks 3 feet 1 clear BIM bottle then clay cap and 3.5 feet wood lined privy talk about beginners luck.[:D] I have 1 corner and half of the 2 sides cleaned out tomorrow I am going to hit it early. Just in the clay cap and first 6-8 inches of pay dirt I found about 10 embossed keepers and a bucket full of unembossed bottles all 1870's and 80's and have not made it 4 feet yet. wish me luck I cant sleep.I will post some pics when I am done.

Bottleman

Reaction score
Craigc90, that is so awesome that you are digging your first privy. Once you dig one you are hooked and will forget about the same old dumps you are digging for a while. Privies are defiantly the best place to find quality bottles and I find are much more fun than dumps. GOOD LUCK MAN!!!

~~Tom

Caretaker maine

Reaction score
Someone got bit by the bug, Craig, post those pics, we love it when a brother hit a nice one, hope you dig some great ones and they're whole [;)], I know there there,

Jim

Reaction score
Good luck, Craig. I hope there are some real beauties waiting for you below! Jim

Bottleman

Reaction score
Jim, i sent you an e-mail last night and i was wondering if you got it. If not, i can send it again.

~~Tom

NEVER MIND> i just checked my mail and saw that you replied.

craigc90

Reaction score