Need some advice on a solvent that will work.

Welcome to our Antique Bottle community

Be a part of something great, join today!

RICKJJ59W

Reaction score
I have been digging bottle for a little over 30 years, and I was never into the tumbling, or hard core cleaning, I clean them to look good on my shelf and that is good enough for me, I have dug some really good bottles over the years, and got them pretty clean, with a variety of methods and cleaning solvents, but this bottle I just dug, is giving me a problem, it came from a 50s privy and was nose down in the pit in the use layer, I am happy to have it, because there was 12 broken historical flasks in that pit, my dilemma is the black mess inside will not brake down, its like a black glue almost, I tried soaking it with soap and water over night, that didn't work, I tried the small bottle brushes didnt work, now i put white gas in it that seemed to brake it down some, I have used white gas on many bottles with that waxy white goo found often in bottles from privies and it worked, i just don't want any thing to hurt the bottle it is thin glass, its a puce Dyottville Eagle, I never got a bottle tumbled and if any one has any suggestions on what would be the best, to tumble or not to tumble, or a good solvent that might work I would appreciate it, heres the bottle semi cleaned. Thanks Rick[/align]
White gas in there now.

C86FF47D8F0F4EFBA1D0E38C00BB2A9F.jpg

Attachments

• C86FF47D8F0F4EFBA1D0E38C00BB2A9F.jpg
    C86FF47D8F0F4EFBA1D0E38C00BB2A9F.jpg
    61.4 KB · Views: 71

Gunsmoke47

Reaction score