New here with a question on this bottle!

Welcome to our Antique Bottle community

Be a part of something great, join today!

rcn72679

Reaction score
Hi! My name is Renee! I just bought a very interesting bottle today! I've always loved antiques but never went beyond going antiquing with my mom, so I'm new to all this. Bein' a stay at home mom, I needed another hobby...LOL! So I was at a yard sale today & picked up this bottle for $2. It has a rounded bottom so it cannot stand on end. It has an open pontil..which is called a moile I guess. The seam stops where the blob top begins & the seam goes all the way around the bottle vertically. It has air bubbles & some look like seeds. The top is a blob top. There are no embossments whatsoever. Any idea? Did I just waste $2...LOL! I have Warman's field guide on bottles, but I definately need a better one.

b2.jpg

b1.jpg

Here's a pic of me too!

web1.jpg

cowseatmaize

Reaction score
It has an open pontil..which is called a moile I guess.
First, it's not a pontil. Pontil scars are at the base. It's around the turn of the century and probably English. BLM's page can help you with future finds for id-ing.
http://www.blm.gov/historic_bottles/bases.htm
Your style bottle is towards the bottom of this page but I highly recommend the whole site.

No, you didn't waste $2, it's still cool and looks pretty clean. I still see them sell for $5-10 at times but for the most part are common without embossing.

Anyway, welcome to the forum, you may be hooked now so we'll probably here back from you.

rcn72679

Reaction score
ORIGINAL: cowseatmaize

It has an open pontil..which is called a moile I guess.
First, it's not a pontil. Pontil scars are at the base.