new member here, wanting info

Welcome to our Antique Bottle community

Be a part of something great, join today!

ticoun

Reaction score
hi
i'm new to bottle collecting, and i wanted to show here my two vintage soda bottles, and also would like to get info on the second one.

first bottle is a light green coca cola bottle that belonged to my grandmother. it is missing some chips from the writing, mainly because my grandmother apparently used this bottle to tenderize meat. from the research i've done, i was able to identify it as a 1951 D-patent bottle, made in Auburn, NY. (note that the cap is brand new.)
dsc01633k.jpg

dsc01638w.jpg

dsc01637y.jpg

second bottle is a Pepsi cola bottle i found half buried in mud in the woods, with moss growing inside. i managed to clean it up pretty well. for the date, that's where i need your help. there are inscriptions on the bottom of the bottle, but these are so faint that it is impossible to take a picture. it says "PEPSI COLA COMPANY OF CANADA LIMITED" around the perimeter of the base, and in the middle, "7 15-1960"(patent date?). there are other marks, but so faint that i just can't read them.
dsc01635zl.jpg

dsc01636d.jpg

ps: i don't want to become addicted to bottle collecting, the vintage fountain pen addiction is already enough!

Attachments

• F00F26CACA3542D7AFB4660039720E8E.jpg
    F00F26CACA3542D7AFB4660039720E8E.jpg
    68.8 KB · Views: 79

carobran

Reaction score
ps: i don't want to become addicted to bottle collecting[/quote/] so many bottle collector's last words....[8|][8|][8D]

ticoun

Reaction score
the PEPSI is 1970'ish..
many thanks for the info.
that's what i first thought, but wanted the opinion of someone more knowledgeable about bottles than me. i wasn't able to find any reference about these later Pepsi bottles, only about the early ones.

ORIGINAL: carobran

ps: i don't want to become addicted to bottle collecting
] so many bottle collector's last words....[8|][8|][8D]