New to the Antique Bottles Community {and digging}

Welcome to our Antique Bottle community

Be a part of something great, join today!

Dekuyper

Reaction score
Hi! I am Isabella and I am rather new to bottle collecting. I got very interested in it the first time my sister {who has a very large bottle dump behind her house} showed me to her dump. I got rather intrigued when I saw a small {about 3 inches now that I think about it} Cobalt bottle without a cap on the surface. To my dismay when I flipped it over, it had a very large hole in it. Later that same day I took home 3 of my first bottles which I assume are the first of many. I found out later that they were all Hazel Atlas and not as early as I thought. The year of each is still unclear, if you know anything about them then PM me. I want to know as much as I can about my first yet worthless sentimental bottles. If you have tips or suggestions for a beginner {I will be going on my first dig very soon} then let me know! I am thrilled to be joining the community. <Edit: Font >

botlguy

Reaction score
Welcome to the forums Isabella. It is difficult to evaluate your items, monetarily or intrinsically, without more information / pictures but typically glass items made by Hazel - Atlas have relatively little value because they are new and mass produced. That said, your items may have more interest but we won't know until we get better descriptions. Pictures are always best. Please give it a try. Jim

Lordbud

Reaction score
Hazel Atlas would place the bottles in the late 1930s or newer? If memory serves...Dig deep. If you find lots of newer bottles on the surface of the dump, then go deeper to look for older layers of refuse/glass/metal etc. If most of the bottles you find are 1930s or newer then look for embossed milk bottles which are collectible even though they might be circa the 1930s-1940s.

sunrunner

Reaction score