Please help identify. I believe I have an old apothecary or store display jar. Maker date, mark, origin, purpose ?

Welcome to our Antique Bottle community

Be a part of something great, join today!

PepperAnna

Reaction score
Hello, I am new to the world of jars. I found this at a thrift store recently and really love it. I would like to know more about. It is fairly large about 15 tall and 11 inches wide at its widest point. It is clear with a greenish blue tint to the glass. The glass is wavy and thick. I believe the bottom has either been put on separately or it is a send pontil. In picture I have outlined the shape of the bottom seem in blue, that I believe to be a sand pontil. You will see the seam is not precise. It veers off to the side of the jar. As it comes around the bottom it ends up lining up again with the bottom of the jar. There are vertical lines in the bottom that go all the way around the bottom, as marked in the picture. I've done a representation of the lines in blue, so you can see where they are. My representation is not exact. The vertical lines are rough to the touch. There is a rectangle like mark in the center of the bottom. It is raised slightly. A slight bump. The glass is smooth to the touch on the bottom, except for the vertical lines. There's one vertical mould line and three horizontal hold lines that end in a taper. See pictures.

I would like to know if my speculation about what the purpose of this jar was used for is correct? Do you think it was a store display or apothecary jar? What purpose do you think it had?

I would like to understand how it was made. Do you think the bottom has a sand pontill? Or is that just how they manufactured the jar? Was it hand made? Blown mold ? Do you think it was made with a 3 piece mold? Has the bottom been polished?

Any ideas about date, manufacturer and country/ region of origin ?