Privy smells?

Welcome to our Antique Bottle community

Be a part of something great, join today!

Dump Digger

Reaction score
I'm very new to privy digging, I've read up some on it, and I think I may have found at least one brick lined privy. Problem is, there are no bottles in the 'privy', or any other kind of trash. I have found a few broken pieces of glass, and a handful of nails, and one iron piece, but I can't be quite sure.

My question, however, is do mid to late 1800's privies still smell of urine? (I can hear your resounding "EW" clearly.)
The dirt is very dark and rich, as one would suspect, but it smells strongly of urine. Is this something common, even in privies as old as this one?

Thanks,
- L

Dump Digger

Reaction score
We haven't found any fecal matter, just the smell. I don't think it could have been used any time recently. I have to admit, I'm puzzled. I suppose I could've mis-smelled the smell, so to speak.

I'm pretty sure I hit the bottom. I dug deep enough to stand in it, and I'm about 5'5. I used the probe to find the surrounding wall, and dug down until I hit a brick bottom. About a foot before I hit the 'bottom', I ran into a little clay, and a pocket of mortar. I suppose I'll dig up the bottom bricks, and see whats underneath. I managed to slide my probe between two of the bricks on the bottom, and I pushed the probe down about 2 feet, and felt no resistance. I couldn't probe further, due to the fact that I'd have to push on the handle with my foot and wouldn't be able to retrieve it.

I found a couple broken bottle bottoms, and a large file, like the kind used for sharpening tools and things. I can't tell you if its old or not, unfortunately I'm not too familiar with 1800's tools.