RE: Old bottle

Welcome to our Antique Bottle community

Be a part of something great, join today!

techz

Reaction score
I'm trying to identify this bottles age. it looks as though it was made from clay and glass.
the bottle shape is perfect has a curve in it. there also seems to be fingerprints imbedded
in the rough finish. also there is a vineyard stamp into the clay which reads "F.C DAS
ALMASdaAREOSA AGUADAdeCIMA" and as part of the stamp is the symbol of a rooster.
i would also like to know how much this bottle could be worth?
any help would be greatly appreciated.

Jh15279.gif

Attachments

• Jh15279.gif
    Jh15279.gif
    172.9 KB · Views: 74

techz

Reaction score
Sorry i'm kinda new at this. Heres the update as for the label it is an old import label that says "Imported Rose Wine Bottled And Shipped By: Nicholai & Co. V.N. DE GAIA Product of Portugal Imported By Mutual Wholesale Liquor Inc. Los Angeles".
I found out the bottle is made of stone there are no seams and they range in from 10 7/8"-11" tall and 9"-9 1/4"round. And also the makers name was Jose da Costa Abrantes who had a factory in "AgaudaDeCima" a city somewhere in Portugal.
I also found out the name "AlmasDaAreosa" is the name of a chapel in AguadaDeCima that date's back to mid XVII century. and that Abrantes had a small factory built near the
Chapel AlmasDeAreosa which therefore gave the Factory name AlmasDeAreosa.
These bottles are in great condition no chips or cracks. also must have been hand made they did leave fingerprints in the finish.
I have 5 of them in all. There are 4 of them with the rose wine label and one with the Red Table Wine label.

I'm still finding it very hard to figure out the age, rarity and possible value I hope this info
helps and Thankyou for helping!

Jh14628.gif

Attachments

• Jh14628.gif
    Jh14628.gif
    182.5 KB · Views: 81

Maine Digger

Reaction score