SPEAS U-SAVIT...Red Book?

Welcome to our Antique Bottle community

Be a part of something great, join today!

glopf43

Reaction score
Hey all. I'm new to the 'jars' forum though, I have been posting over in the 'bottles' forums for a while. I have been digging up ALOT of jars in the one of the dumps I am working. I dug up this "speas vinegars" ,u-sav-it ,1 quart. I hear that they can be pretty collectable. Does anyone have information on the one I have found...THANKS!

Tr49263.jpg

Attachments

• Tr49263.jpg
    Tr49263.jpg
    61.6 KB · Views: 121

glopf43

Reaction score
RE: SPEAS VINEGARS

Heres one of the bottom of the 'speas vinegars 1 qt'...thanks again

Wu61590.jpg

Attachments

• Wu61590.jpg
    Wu61590.jpg
    58.9 KB · Views: 94

jarsnstuff

Reaction score
The Speas jars I've ever seen are embossed on the base only, the embossing on the shoulder of this jar is certainly a plus. I think Redbook (I don't have mine with me right now) prices them pretty cheap, but most of the ones I ever saw offered for sale were anywhere from $10 to $20 - without the shoulder embossing. -Tammy

glopf43

Reaction score
Hello Tammy. Thanks for your response. It seems, perhaps, that the 'Red Book' is a bit out of touch when it comes to 'Speas Vinegars'. I did an eBay search (as sugessted by another forum member) and 'Speas' has its OWN list of auctions. These collectors seem very willing to pay quite a bit for the jars. A 1pint 8oz (with embossed shoulders) just sold for $498.44!! and a 1ga for apx. $475.00!! The average for most of the 'Speas' is in the $100.00 range. I've been watching for about 10 day's and their is usually some 14 in auction at any given time. From what I understand the 'Red Book' has not had a new addition in several years; maybe it's time. Thanks again...

jarsnstuff

Reaction score