the old family farm...

Welcome to our Antique Bottle community

Be a part of something great, join today!

mackle

Reaction score
The in-laws' Grandparents 23 acre farm was abandoned in the early 1970's. The 1800's house has collapsed, as have the outhouse and chicken coop. Two barns burned to the ground long ago, leaving no signs of ever having existed. The only still standing structure is a cinder block pump house that was built when they got running water in the 1950's, and the once pasture land is now covered by a full stand of large pine trees. Yesterday, with guidance from the oldest grandchild, (she remembers the area from her 50's childhood), I went out to explore the area.
I've never used a probing rod before, but it's not exactly "high tech" and I'm pretty sure I located the privy cavity. I dug 2 or 3 feet down before I realized this was not a one person, one day job, and decided to come back to it sometime in the future. Moved on the Metal Detecting. I didn't waste too much time on that either, as I soon got tired of digging up old ammunition brass, bolts, bed-frames and assorted other rusty junk. 'Went searching for the old trash dump.