Newbie With very old bottle

Welcome to our Antique Bottle community

Be a part of something great, join today!

Bahama_B_C

Reaction score
I am a newbie o this forum, and i am really glad i found it. I have a brown bottle i found in Nassau Harbor (Bahamas)during an excavation project.
I know it has to be very old because its deformed(I think, it doesnt look like its original shape) it wont stand properly on the shelf because the bottom isnt straight. Nassau used to be a mecca of pirate activity, and new world settlers reached here around the 1500's. there are no seams or markings on the bottle. Also you can see small ridges in the glass due to it being washed around for quite some time. any help anyone can offer me would be great.

thanks in advance

George

Nl29634.jpg

Oj26910.jpg

Attachments

• Nl29634.jpg
    Nl29634.jpg
    85.9 KB · Views: 56
  • Oj26910.jpg
    Oj26910.jpg
    47.6 KB · Views: 51

kumtow

Reaction score
It is a handblown wine bottle circa 1790 - 1810. Most likely English in origin. They are usually very crude and misshapen which adds to their appeal to collectors. I recently bought one for $US45 in near mint condition.

PS. Looks like it is in it's original shape to me.

Bahama_B_C

Reaction score
That sounds about right. I thought it was misshapen because i was always told glass is liquid not solid. like old windows in new england houses, where the glass gets thicker at the bottom from the force of gravity pulling it down.
On another note i also have some old cathedral bottles that were found in a wreck off of the island of Eleuthera, here in the Bahamas. I need to get some shots up cause i am very interested to know what they are worth, But i will do that in another post

Thanks again for the feedback

APOTHEHUTCH

Reaction score