It won't stand up !!!

Welcome to our Antique Bottle community

Be a part of something great, join today!

MikeK

Reaction score
Hello everybody, please be gentle with me as this is my first time !!
I don't have a digi camera to hand but hopefully I won't need one as this bottle looks quite unique.
It is approx 9 inches long of a light green colour with a silvery sheen. The cork appears to have been a champagne type as the wire cage is still attached. The seams stop at the collar. The bottom is like an amphora so you definitely can't put it down mid swig ! The writing down the sides are as follows ; J STIMPSON -GENUINE SUPERIOR- AIREATED WATER- EAST DEREHAM
Anybody enlighten me please ?
Thanks Mike

IRISH

Reaction score
G'day MikeK, welcome to the forum.

Your bottle sounds like a torpedo bottle, they where made like that to keep the cork wet so it didn't dry out and shrink. If you can get someone to take a photo and post it we will be able to tell you a lot more anout it. Torpedos date from about the 1820's up till 1900 or a bit later, if your one is the one I think it is it will be from the 1850's to 60's but I'll need to see a photo [;)] .

MikeK

Reaction score
How yer goin Irish
Thanks for the quick answer. I thought it looked pretty old. Next thing is borrowing someone's digital camera and get a pic uploaded. I wonder if the fact that the wire cage is still intact means the cork shrunk and dropped out, based on what you say about the reason for the bottom.
Best regards MikeK

duncan68

Reaction score
hi mike im new here as well
sounds like a hamilton (torpedo) bottle. east dereham is a town very near where i live in the uk, i'll see if i can find out anything.
duncan

MikeK

Reaction score
Hi Duncan