Need tips for a beginner in Oklahoma

Welcome to our Antique Bottle community

Be a part of something great, join today!

skampler

Reaction score
Hello all,

I currently live north of Oklahoma City and was wondering if you all had any suggestions for me. Oklahoma is not as old of a state as the east coast, so what luck would I have if I started digging? Also, how do you guys find places to dig, do you just wander in the woods until you find a dump, or is there a better way of finding places? Just curious as to where to start. Also, what tools are need besides a shovel and a probe? Any techniques you have to offer? I am very interested in digging and know I would enjoy it, but it would be nice to get some tips from the pros too. Thanks in advance.

jays emporium

Reaction score
I have been digging in Texas since the 1970's. The terrain in Oklahoma is a lot like Texas so I'll give you some tips to get started. A good place to start looking is along creeks near a town. Walk the creek beds and look for broken glass in the shallow areas among the rocks and sand. If you find some glass that looks old, try to track it to it's source. That will usually be a ravine off the main creek channel or sometimes right on the creek bank. In the early 1900's people would often dump their garbage, containing old bottles, in washouts or low areas along creeks. Then over the years it would either wash away in a flood or get covered over with silt. I have found lots of dumps that way.
My main digging tool is a 4 pronged potato rake when I'm digging in a trash layer. Be sure to wear gloves to protect your hands from broken glass. Hope this helps.
Jay

athometoo

Reaction score
that there is good advice . did you ever do any scouting around indianola , jay . i have a list of 500 ghost town in texas and the directions if ya would like it . sam