privy?

Welcome to our Antique Bottle community

Be a part of something great, join today!

digup16

Reaction score
hey i am 16 yo live on an old boyscout camp and do plenty of metal detecting there. However on recent searches further back in the woods i have found evidence of possible human habitation b4 boyscouts. i first found a rock w/ carvings in it and then just below almost out of site until a few feet away i found a hole 11 feet 9 inches deep. at first i thot it was a well or a cistern but after some reading i believe it is a privy but on the side of a mountain pretty much on a steep cliffway back in the woods i have looked for the house but cannot find it and i am still not sure where to strt in my investigation i was thinking of digging in the tailings of this hole which seem to provide the only flat area on the mountain. is ther any way to dig the hole w/p goin in it since i am not sure how old it is or how reliable. u can tell im new to this.......

lexdigger

Reaction score
You need a steel rod probe to find out if anything's in there before you dig it. It could be a privy, but without a house around it's unlikely. Even if the house was there long ago, there should still be some sign of a foundation or other outbuildings? Try to get a probe, or just start digging, that's the only way you'll know for sure! Good luck, Chris Capley

digup16

Reaction score
yea i have a broken golf club im gna use thanks

swizzle

Reaction score