Railroad surprise & 'Cure' Question

Welcome to our Antique Bottle community

Be a part of something great, join today!

David Osborn

Reaction score
I found a huge old dump in a ravine here in Omaha. After going down three feet and not (yet) getting past about 1920, i got tired and mad and decided to walk the tracks down below. (i've never done that before with my eyes peeled)
Imagine my surprise to find a Piso's Consumptive 'Cure' (in three pieces). I climbed the hill right at that point and found a 9 inch 'Cramers Kidney and Liver Cure (broken) right on TOP of the Dirt. Digging in, i've found a new pre-1900 spot !! Just a tip for those, like me, who spend all their ravine-time looking Down on the tracks instead of Walking them !!
My question: When was the cut-off year for banning the word 'cure' on a bottle. I've never run into the word before so figure these are a bit older.
Also, found two enticing fragments and wonder if i can get a name and date on each ? The bottom picture piece looks like a gryphon or dragon to me. Dave.

David Osborn

Reaction score
Second photo

Here is the 2nd mystery piece i'd like id'ed. That face on the first one looks a little like a wolf if that helps.

woody

Reaction score
You're right in the right area, Dave.
Those pieces are what you want to look for in older bottles.
I don't know what the wolf piece is but the other looks to be from a paneled medicine or bitters bottle.
The Pure Food and Drug act of 1906 did away with the cures and other claims they couldn't prove on the older bottles.
You're in a good area from the pieces you have described.

ENOCHO

Reaction score
O.K. if thats the truth i got a HALL'S CATARRH CURE bottle machine made i would say very early machine made (by the many bubbles) it had to be alittle after the 1906 date ? also would say most of the hall's i have seen on ebay where blue in color but mine is clear ? ENOCHO

medbottle

Reaction score