shipwreck bottle finds

Welcome to our Antique Bottle community

Be a part of something great, join today!

RED Matthews

Reaction score
Hello' I would put some liquid wrench in the top. set it out in the sun and let the heat help get the sealant softened. The sun could heat the contents enough to help lift it up.. It is a very interesting bottle, in my opinion. RED Matthews

MichaelFla

Reaction score
As part of an historic research team, I would think that when you open the preserves they would be tested to determine what, exactly, they are, as well as the state of preservation. I have occasionally heard of products dating from the 1820s to the 1870s being tested and found to be still theoretically viable as a food source (meaning they were still preserved and had not soured or rotted).

Rika

Reaction score
I am new to this but could this help. "Underwood's history reaches even further back than B & M's, dating to 1822 when an Englishman named William Underwood started a small condiment business in Boston. Beginning with mustard, Underwood soon began selling ketchup, marmalade, cranberries, and pickles, which were stored in bottles and glass jars produced by Boston glassmakers. Underwood shipped his products all over the world, and by 1836 he had outgrown the production capacity of the local glassmakers and was forced to turn to canisters." http://www.fundingunivers...b-g-foods-inc-history/

barney00

Reaction score
MichaelFla said:
As part of an historic research team, I would think that when you open the preserves they would be tested to determine what, exactly, they are, as well as the state of preservation. I have occasionally heard of products dating from the 1820s to the 1870s being tested and found to be still theoretically viable as a food source (meaning they were still preserved and had not soured or rotted).