Tumbled bottles turning translucent gray

Welcome to our Antique Bottle community

Be a part of something great, join today!

azokie

Reaction score
Hi -

Hoping somebody out there can help me out with this problem. I have been tumbling soda bottles for about two years. About six months ago, I started having a problem with the bottles coming out with a translucent gray coating that cannot be scrubbed off. Apparently the bottle is heating up and the tumbling mixture anneals to the surface of the bottle both inside and out. This only happens when using the "aluminum oxide" polishing compound. It has never happened using the 1200 grit silicone cutter. It seems to happen randomly. I can tumble three bottles at one time, and one bottle may come out with the coating and the other two will be fine. I talked with the tumbler manufacturer and he was familiar with this result, however I don't think his explanation of the cause is correct in my case. He thought it might be the result of a "dry run" (not enough water). This is not the case, I can overfill the canister and still end up with this result. Why didn't this happen in the first 18 months? Why is it happening now? Could it be dirty copper? By the way I'm in Phoenix, AZ and the outside temperature can be brutal - could that possibly have an effect? Has anybody out there ever experienced this problem? If so do you have any suggestions? Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Note: Incidentally the gray film can be tumbled off and the bottle looks fine, that is if it doesn't happen again. This is driving me "nuts"....Please help.

Sincerely -
Brent

tazmainiendigger

Reaction score