Went on my first dig....

Welcome to our Antique Bottle community

Be a part of something great, join today!

acoleg

Reaction score
First off, let me start out by saying I appreciate the kind welcome and suggestions some of you made on my previous post made about a week ago, "Looking for diggers". All too often with forums like these, dealing with hobbies of any sort, it can be tough to get anyone "inside" to pay you any mind. So I especially want to thank "riverdiver" for suggesting I get in touch with "athometoo",as he lives here in Dallas. "athometoo" was all too happy to give me directions to an old Dallas area dump, which I went to this past Saturday. Hopefully the next time I go I can tag along with him so he can teach me a thing or two, b/c as I said earlier, I am just getting started. I also want to thank "Chuck1188" and "texasdigger", we will definately be in touch as well.

Okay, back to the main topic of this thread. I did make it out to the dump this past Saturday, although I didnt get to stay as long as I would have liked. My main priority was to just find the place and see what it was like. I dug around for a couple hours though and found a handful of bottles, i'm sure nothing special but I had one heck of a good time and cannot wait to get back out there. Pics are below of what I found. The little blue "marble" is actually a glass bead, thought that was pretty cool. I found two marbles, but I guess one of them fell out of my pocket b/c i cannot find it anywhere. I know its not a big deal, but it kind of bummed me out. I guess i'll just have to find more, right! My favorite bottle is a little one that reads "John R. Dickeys Old Reliable Eye Wash; Manufactured by Dickey Drug Co. Bristol, VA." It's skinny and about 4 inches tall.