Where to dig??

Welcome to our Antique Bottle community

Be a part of something great, join today!

wvhillbilly

Reaction score
Hey guys I was wondering if anybody could give me any tips on where to dig. Do you just look in old garbage dumps you find ontop of the ground (like I have been doing) or do you just walk around old towns that are all tore down looking for them sticking out of the ground[8|] I found my White House Vinegar jar stinking out of the ground while walking in the middle of the woods! Lucky Me a $20 find[8D] If only I found 20 more lol...

crkgrl

Reaction score
If you look back over the "digging and finding" threads, you will get some great advice. I am a novice here, but if you find a lot of broken glass, that is usually a sign there is more under the ground. Many here look on hillsides around old buildings and farmhouses. Anywhere someone would throw their trash. Some towns have old maps where you can actually locate old dumps and houses. Creeks and rivers are also good spots.

FIGGINS DIGGINS

Reaction score
Hey There Hillbilly,

If you haven't already check into probes. Probing took me to a whole new level of bottle digging. Always be aware of the hidden dangers though, underground power lines, gas lines, and so on are very dangerous. If you are way out in the sticks this is usually not an issue but never risk it and never ever risk it in town. There is stuff going everywhere underground in most towns and what is not dangerous enough to seriously injure you or worse is usually very expensive to repair if damaged. A buddy of mine got a gas-line last year. He won't be forgetting his bill very soon and was very lucky it was not a high-voltage line. Great Tool though if used properly. Good Luck!!!

wvhillbilly

Reaction score