1st attempt bottle repair

Welcome to our Antique Bottle community

Be a part of something great, join today!

swizzle

Reaction score
Well I finally decided that no one is gonna hand me the secret recipe to fix bottles so I decided to try to see what I can do on my own. The resin I'd like to get is a bit pricey so I think I did all right with what I had at hand. I'm not thrilled about the outcome but hey its my first attempt and maybe I can start to get some opinions on how to improve my work. Check out my pics and be as critical as you like. No sugar coating. I want true and honest opinions. Thanx for reading. Swiz
Bottlesandsuch013-1.jpg

Bottlesandsuch015.jpg

Bottlesandsuch010-1.jpg

Bottlesandsuch012-1.jpg

Bottlesandsuch002-2.jpg

Bottlesandsuch001-1.jpg

Wheelah23

Reaction score
I've been meaning to do the same thing for a few bottles I have. The problem is, I think it's near impossible to match the color exactly. Looks like you ran into the same difficulty. I think the color is the problem, you can see quite evidently that the bottle has been repaired.

swizzle

Reaction score
From a distance its not nearly as obvious. The one thing I also wasn't happy with is that the epoxy says that it drys crystal clear. Its not clear at all. When you hold it up to the light the repair actually cast a shadow through the glass. I also noticed how clear the glass is but the repair has air bubbles. I'm thinking that I may need to set it on a vibrating surface to remove some if not all of the bubbles. I'm wondering if the tiny drop of testor paint really affected the clarity of the epoxy. Anyone else have thoughts, opinions, suggestions on better quality resin? Any suggestions at all? Thanx, Wheelah23. Swiz

swizzle

Reaction score