coca mariani. history? value?

Welcome to our Antique Bottle community

Be a part of something great, join today!

Reaction score
I found a coca mariani bottle and i would like to know more about it im very new at this and Know little about bottles. It is dark olive green has an applied lip and sort of looks like a squat soda and its from paris france. I want to know the history ant the value. One of my best finds yet. Jarrett thank you.

surfaceone

Reaction score
Hello Jarrett,

Welcome to the Blue Pages. What took ya? We appreciate zee photographs, n'est-ce pas?

Here are some Previous Mariani Discussions...

The+Popular+French+Tonic+For+Body+And+Brain+1280.GIF

Reaction score
here is a picture of the coca mariani anybody recodnize it if so please help its my current best bottle.

90966B63764B4B6B85881021B751E4EA.jpg

Attachments

• 90966B63764B4B6B85881021B751E4EA.jpg
    90966B63764B4B6B85881021B751E4EA.jpg
    45.3 KB · Views: 116

Plumbata

Reaction score
It was a very popular product back in the 2nd half of the 1800s-early 1900s. It was a wine (or fortified wine) infused with the active principles contained within the coca leaf. The natural cocaine (slightly different from the cocaine HCl everyone knows about) was certainly a major selling point.

When I dug one several years ago and looked into the product I learned that a few Catholic Popes and also secular heads-of-state were regular users and endorsers of this most energizing of products. [:D]

The "value" varies wildly. Most bottle collectors probably wouldn't pay more than 5-10 or so for one, but collectors of antiques and vintage items related to narcotics and other illegal drugs will pay a premium if the "cocaine" angle is played, sometimes 60 or more for one, though I wouldn't expect it. It is a nice bottle to have as a conversation and display piece.

LC

Reaction score