my favorite bottle - any ideas?

Welcome to our Antique Bottle community

Be a part of something great, join today!

milliondpi

Reaction score
This is a bottle I found nearby our family farm in Jefferson County, Ohio. I greatly enjoying digging and scrounging any type of artifacts and also have a crazy fascination with local history. This bottle was found near a very old foundation where I believe one of the original settlers of our area lived. I'm not sure about the age or what it may have been used for, since there are no markings on the bottle anywhere.

It's clear, but has turned a slight purple. The bottle stands about 8" tall, the bottom is indented slightly, but not the pontil style I see on very old bottles (i'm just learning about all of this), there is a tiny scar that has been smoothed over on the bottom, there are two seams, on either side - one being much more faint than the other. The seams end .5"-.75" from the lip of the bottle, which is uneven and thick, but smooth. The whole thing is riddled with bubbles and scars that seem to be from it's creation, not the elements. I'm not sure what else to say about it other than it truly is my favorite because it was probably used by the people who once lived here. My parents' barn was built sometime between 1830-1850 and I wondered if it could be that old.

I absolutely adore searching for artifacts of any kind and can not wait to share some of the cool stuff I've found!! There are 3 dumps located on my parents' property and the property I live on, which all belonged to one large farm. Obviously most of the surface trash is from the 1950's-70's, but there are a lot of 1930's-1940's soda bottles in one dump and we've even found inkwells and a perfectly intact piece of beveled glass from the old victorian style picture frames.
I've made a little page about this on my history site at
http://www.ellienighman.com/hist/artifacts.html