My Pet Peeves with the Bottle Hobby

Welcome to our Antique Bottle community

Be a part of something great, join today!

NyDigger1

Reaction score
Recently there have been quite a few, "discussions" on topics relating to NYC bottles on the forums, and even though Im only 18, ive been collecting for 4 years and currently run the largest NYC bottle database. I dont understand why some people who dont even collect NYC bottles wont take a word of my advice, even when they ask for it, and start arguing over price, condition, etc, etc, completely ignoring me, and thinking that i dont know squat. The fact that I am younger does not mean that I know "less" than any other collector, especially when it comes to NYC bottles and their details.

Also, I hate that when I ask people from clubs in NYC to go digging with them in the city or to join the club they say that im too young, and inexperienced, while at the same time they say that they need new, young blood to keep the hobby going.

Also, What defines a bottle as mint?!

Ive always been told that the structure of the bottle (no dings, chips, cracks, flakes, flea bites, etc, etc, etc) always determined whether it was mint or not. Others have told me that staining, iridescence, and "the area from which it was dug", outhouse, dump, or found in an attic, also adds to the question of it being mint or not. My response, "If you dont like stains or iridescence, put it in CLR ad it will come right off, trust me ive done it before."

Ive had bottes returned to me on Ebay because the Bottle was "Dirty". Well of course it is! Most are dug! Even the ones you buy at flea markets or antique shops. I dont understand why people wont fully read the description of a listing as it says it on the third or fourth line, "This is a Dug Bottle"

Thoughts? Im sorry I had to put this rant up but ive had enough of being ignored and belittled.

cyberdigger

Reaction score