New today / Cistern questions

Welcome to our Antique Bottle community

Be a part of something great, join today!

Reaction score
hello and greetings,

brand new forum reader and potential contributor-

I don't know when I got interested in old bottles I have some limited experience from decades ago. I had family in Saratoga and when I was about ten we used to dig a few dumps there. Later while walking home from little league in my hometown in Ohio I found an old ink bottle. I went back for weeks and later found out there was an enormous dump from the turn of the century, (just now known to me as toc.) and I found thousands of old bottles there and lots junk.Sometimes when I am back home I can walk through the area 25 years later and still find medicine ink and beer bottles. My guess is circa 1890-1910 but since I was a kid I haven't paid one bit of attention to this hobby until recently.

I live in Chicago now and occasionally I will see a hole being dug for a new condo bldg in my neighborhood. A few years ago I found a nice soda bottle with the ball stopper intact,a ginger/pottery beer bottle, and a Jerusalem Beer Blob all sitting on the fenceline after being dug out by the contractors. I keep an eye out for this after the first time I saw this happening and didn't pick up the bottles. I had gone back and so had someone else. ha .. lesson learned. Anyway I remembered digging bottles as a kid and making a nice little bit selling them to fund my teenage activities so I kept those three neat Chicago bottles.