Peened out embossing

Welcome to our Antique Bottle community

Be a part of something great, join today!

mf150

Reaction score
I'm a complete novice when it comes to this hobby/obsession. So, I have a question for you all.

I just bought a nice cobalt smooth-base soda online. The seller says that some of the embossing was peened out (namely the initials of the manufacturers/props.). Was this done to deceive collectors at a later time or was it common practice when the business changed ownership? I have sent a message to the seller asking him/her, but I'd like your input.

Any info is apreciated. Thanks.

AntiqueMeds

Reaction score
It was done at the time the bottle was made because of ownership change or other reasone that required embossing change. It was a common practice. Molds were expensive they would modify them and use until they wore out then update the embossing on the new mold.

RED Matthews

Reaction score
Well mp150 - I would have to say you got a hold of a nice collectible example of early glass making and mold maintaining. I especially have that opinion as that type of bottle life represents the type of bottlemysteries that I look for. Congratulations. RED Matthews

wisodas

Reaction score
I'm not sure "peened out" is the proper term. To peen means to flatten. But the lettering in a bottle mold is "cut into" the mold. Anything "cut into" a mold would have to be "filled in" in order to get rid of embossed lettering on a bottle blown in that mold. The tiny numbers used to indicate dates of manufacture were commonly filled in and recut, especially with respect to soda and beer bottle molds. And name changes or mold cutting errors were filled in, and then recut, if needed.