The Great Saturday Bottle Hunt (picture heavy)

Welcome to our Antique Bottle community

Be a part of something great, join today!

TheCaliKid

Reaction score
Well, the day of the Great Bottle Hunt finally arrived........woke up early, got in the car, and began to drive the 72 miles (one way) to the site. Here is a detailed accounting of what happened.

Once I got to the site, I begun a painstakingly thorough and systematic search of the road and surrounding area. Here are some pictures of the road:

DSC01833.jpg

DSC01835.jpg

DSC01883.jpg

DSC01906.jpg

DSC01887.jpg

I searched this road for over 4 hours, this was first thing I found - a 1 pint NATIONAL DISTILLERS flask bottle......this is how I found it:

DSC01834.jpg

DSC01911.jpg

DSC01914.jpg

^ Being a total newbie to the hobby, I have absolutely no idea of the age/value/rarity of this bottle - maybe it's just worthless trash, but I have to have something to show for my efforts, so I am keeping it. Besides, I think it looks cool.

The next thing that happened was, I went to dig under a large Gray Pine tree and so I moved some old dead dry branches out of the way, and came face to face with this guy..........an adult Pacific Gopher Snake:

DSC01843.jpg

DSC01849.jpg

Because he was in the shade, his cold blood really was cold-blooded and so didn't move around much. I never pass up an easy opportunity to handle a non-poisonous snake. It is just rather difficult to hold a slithering snake in one hand, and a camera in the other hand, and try to get decent pictures......but I was able to manage it:

DSC01852.jpg

DSC01855.jpg

I let him slip out from under my foot, and he tried to go "anaconda" on me:

DSC01858.jpg

After the letting the snake go I dug under the tree and, naturally, didn't find anything. That was alright with me, because finding the snake had made it a fun and worthwhile experience.