Paying for eBay items from UK

Welcome to our Antique Bottle community

Be a part of something great, join today!

Flaschenjager

Reaction score
Hi folks -
I hope some reader can help me. I recently won an auction from eBay UK and live in the US. I've contacted the seller and asked to see what type of payment the seller prefers and so far no reply. I have the seller's address and payment options. The options listed were Postal Order/ Banker's draft and Personal check and in the item description is: Personal check and Money order/Cashiers check.

Now I've never done this before, so do I pay in USD or GBP. I've tried banks and the post office, AAA, and other sources and get the run around. This, I thought would be easier. Any suggestions???

capsoda

Reaction score
Hey Meech, I always use a postal money order. Some over seas folk don't recognize one from any where else. Just use US dollar amounts.[:)]

bearswede

Reaction score
I'd be careful... I notice many overseas sellers will not accept US Postal MO's...

How about Roger? He might be able to help you with that...

Ron

capsoda

Reaction score
I've never had any problems using them to buy in England or Austraila but I sure would not send one for somthing I bought on Ebay Iran.[sm=lol.gif]

Flaschenjager

Reaction score
Hey ...a slight update:

I just got a 1 800 number from my bank that sets up a foreign draft. They will need the about in GBP and seller address, make up the draft and mail it directly to them or mail back to me to send. Is this a 'banker's draft' ???

Ron is right! In many cases the sellers overseas will not deal w/ USPS Money Orders. They are hard to cash or some other reason.

I want to give the seller a bit more time to reply before doing the draft thing. I may have to bug Roger w/ this directly. I hate to disturb him. Roger - do you have your ears on? [:)]

GuntherHess

Reaction score
I would think your best bet would be an international money order made out in pounds.